A Letter for the Weary Soul

Dear Friend,

I’m sitting here looking at your picture. I see your smile, but I see your sadness behind it. The light that was once in your eyes has now been dimmed. I see the newly formed lines on your face, and I see what you are trying to hide. I wonder where you are and where you’ve been.

I wonder what horrible pain you’ve experienced in your heart that’s caused you to be a shell of your former self. If I could hold you against my ear, would I hear the ocean of your tears?

I wonder what was the breaking point that had you swallowing the first pill. I wonder how heavy those chains must feel.

I look at you and I see Death casting shadows on your face. I know you must have believed the lies. What were they?  “You’re not good enough, you’re not pretty enough, you’re not smart enough, no one loves you, no one sees you, you don’t matter, you never will. So go ahead and take this pill.”

I look at you and you’re running, yet you’re standing still.

I want you to know I have believed those lies before as well  and I want you to know that Death came for me too, my chains may have looked different, but they were no less heavy.

Maybe you’re tired of trying to fix people in your life, you and I have always been like that, you know? We have shared the common thread of wanting to mend a broken  persons glass, not realizing in the process we cut ourselves on the shards. And now I see your shattered spirit, and I want to put you back together.

I can’t put you back together. But I know someone who can, and I know you’ve heard of Him. Somewhere along the way, you-like I once did-believed the lies rather than Truth. But I want you to know that He’s never left your side.

I want you to know the freedom in His Truth. I want you to know that even though Death is gripping you, Life is clinging to you. I want you to know these chains that are binding you? Jesus is the only Key that will loose them and free you.

I want you to know that it doesn’t matter what you have done or where you have been. I want you to know that you are loved, that you are enough, and most of all that you as a person…matter.

I want you to know it is never too late. I want you to know the Enemy is after you and seeks to destroy you, but you have a Friend, and He seeks to make you whole.

I want you to know that it is ultimately your choice in which one of the two happens.

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light” Matthew 11:27-30

I want you to know I know what it is to be weary and burdened, Friend. I want you to know that there is Hope, and there is Light, even though all you can feel is darkness.

There is rest for your soul and it is found in the arms of Christ.

Please don’t believe the lies, please know these chains of addiction can be broken, please don’t give in. You’re a fighter, you always have been and this is a battle you do not have to fight alone.

You are loved more than you could ever know by someone who died to set you free.

He whispers “Follow me”.

I love you my friend, I’ll never give up and neither will He.

Leave a Reply

